The Cambridgeshire Ecumenical Council

Constitution of the Cambridgeshire Ecumenical Council (1997)

The Cambridgeshire Ecumenical Council covers the civic area of the County of Cambridgeshire and that part of Norfolk in the Diocese of Ely. It is formed by:

    1. The Anglican Diocese of Ely
    2. The Roman Catholic Diocese of East Anglia
    3. The London North East and the East Anglia Districts of the Methodist Church
    4. The Eastern Province of the United Reformed Church
    5. The Cambridgeshire Baptist Association
    6. The Anglia Division of The Salvation Army
    7. The meetings of the Society of Friends within the area of the Council
    8. The Churches of the Congregational Federation in the County
    9. The German Lutheran Church in Cambridge.


The Council members are appointed by the constituent churches is the area from their own membership. Each church shall appoint up to four members who should include:

    1. Church Leaders, Ecumenical Officers, and representatives of the clergy and lay members
    2. The Local Ecumenical Partnerships and other ecumenical bodies (as specified by the Standing Committee shall be invited to nominate up to five members of the Council.
    3. With the agreement of the existing member churches other denominations may be invited to join the Council or send observers.


The Council shall elect from its members a Chairman and a Vice-Chairman (each for a three-year period), a Secretary and a Treasurer, who need not be members of the Council. Each church not represented by one of the officers shall appoint one of its Council members to serve with the Officers as a Standing Committee.


The financing of the Council shall be by contributions from the member churches as determined by the Council.


    1. To promote and seek by prayer and other appropriate ways the fullness of unity in the Christian Church.
    2. To act as a regular forum for study and debate on all matters of Christian Unity and common concern, including the deployment of ministry (ordained and lay) and the sharing of resources.
    3. To respond as appropriate to issues of local public concern.
    4. To encourage effective united evangelism, witness, social concern and pastoral care within the area of the Council.
    5. To encourage and further the creation of Local Ecumenical Partnerships in the area and act as the Sponsoring Body for the partnerships. The Council shall appoint Local Advisory Groups to oversee and support each project. The Council shall be empowered to delegate oversight of such partnerships to the Local Advisory Group, and to receive an annual report on its progress. The Council shall also conduct a Review of each Local Ecumenical Partnership every five or seven years as appropriate. The services of the Group for Local Unity within Churches Together in England shall be used.
    6. To encourage and further Local Covenants (which are not Local Ecumenical Partnerships) and to advise congregations who wish to enter into such Covenants.
    7. To maintain communication and information with the various ecumenical bodies in the Council’s area, in particular through a Forum to take place in alternate years.
    8. To maintain liaison, on behalf of the churches, as necessary with public bodies in the area.
    9. To facilitate the relationship between the churches and the media.


The Council shall have power to change the Constitution by a majority of two-thirds of those present and voting at a meeting convened after due notice in writing, with the proposed changes set out in the Agenda.

Adopted at a meeting of the Council 24 April 1997

(This copy made 13 April 2014)